God at Work

29 04 2013
Photo @ Grace Community Church // Kenwood Campus. Photo by Lynse Michael Photography // lynsemichaelphotography.com

Photo @ Grace Community Church // Kenwood Campus. Photo by Lynse Michael Photography // lynsemichaelphotography.com

I love my church family.

I’ve been to so many concerts and events where the entertainer gets on stage and says “Yeah, Nashville! This is the best city on our tour!!!” And inevitably, the crowd goes wild. Now, I’m no entertainer, and I don’t stand in front of thousands of people every day, but I have said that I believe we have THE BEST CHURCH family! And every Sunday is further proof for me that God has blessed us with an incredible church family.

And I believe the proof is that God is at work in Unmistakable ways through Grace Community Church! Here is how:

1. Commitment Sunday – Yesterday, we finished our series “Unmistakable” where we have been praying for God to do things that can’t be explained apart from Him. Yesterday was commitment Sunday at the Kenwood Campus, and in our worship gathering we saw tons of people in our fellowship take their next step saying that their commitment to Jesus would shape all other commitments in their life. I am working my way through a HUGE stack of commitment cards where families are committing to Jesus in incredible ways through community, serving, inviting, and financially investing.

2. Praying for God to do Unmistakable things – On our commitment card that people and families did yesterday at the Kenwood campus, we had a section where they could include what they are praying for. So many folks are praying for their co-workers/friends/family to hear the truth of the Gospel and be changed by God’s grace and mercy. So many are praying that God will use their life to tell the story of Jesus. So many are praying for themselves, that God would help them lead as parents, as husbands and wives, and as leaders in the community in such a way that shouts the Gospel through their life.

3. Inviting others – One of the options on our commitment card said “I commit to inviting ______ of my friends, family and/or people in the community.” I cannot tell you how excited I was when I read through the commitment to invite friends, family and folks in the community. So many people are hurting, and surveys reveal that people typically show up to a church because someone has invited them. And the GREAT thing about our church family is that they are excited to connect people far from God to a local church!

Acts 5:38-39 says  “If they are planning and doing these things merely on their own, it will soon be overthrown. But if it is from God, you will not be able to overthrow them. You may even find yourselves fighting against God!”

I can honestly say that I absolutely love my church family, and I love seeing God at work in their lives in Unmistakable ways as individuals and I can’t wait to see how God continues to grow His church, and grow his followers to make Him famous in our city.

-B.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

